Community TV stations withdraw from Act-SA

Two community television stations have withdrawn from the nascent body formed to represent the sector, the Association of Community Television – South Africa (Act-SA).

Cape Town TV and 1KZN TV withdrew from Act-SA, citing irreconcilable differences with the initiative. This leaves Tshwane TV, Soweto TV and Bay TV as the only licensed community broadcasters participating in the initiative, along with a few other unlicensed community TV groups.

Act-SA was initiated in May 2013 when a grouping of community television organizations agreed to the formation of the body. The intention was to form Act-SA as a distinct legal entity which operates on behalf of its members, namely community television stations licensed by ICASA as well as those seeking such licenses.

To this end, the participating organizations signed a memorandum of understanding, which outlined their intention to form a legal entity governed by a constitution. The MoU was signed on 29 May 2013, following the election of a steering committee. The mandate of the elected office bearers was to organize the AGM, at which the constitution would be ratified and a leadership elected to take the organization forward. Continue reading